Ph.D. Workshop on Multimedia Computing Research

1. Introduction

The ISM 2012 Ph.D. Workshop is an international forum for doctoral students in the field of Multimedia Computing. The workshop provides Ph.D. students with the opportunity to present, discuss, and receive feedback on their research in a constructive atmosphere. The workshop will include prominent researchers from the industry and academia, who will participate actively in the discussions.

We particularly encourage submissions from students who are in the final stages of their doctoral work, and who can therefore present a relatively complete picture of their dissertations, as well as students who are in the early stages of their work and thus have a significant future work component. The former group will have the opportunity to showcase their doctoral work to a wider audience in preparation for job search, whereas the latter can obtain valuable feedback about their research plans.

2. Paper Submission

Prospective Ph.D. students are invited to submit papers of no more than 4 pages in length, formatted according to the IEEE Computer Society Proceedings Guidelines (available at Accepted camera-ready papers will be limited to 2 pages in length. The proceedings of the workshop will be published as part of the ISM 2012 proceedings, which will appear in the IEEE Digital Library.

Only active Ph.D. students are eligible to submit and the manuscripts should address specifically doctoral work. All submissions must have the student as the lead author (the supervisor may be a co-author). Accepted submissions must be presented by their student authors. Topics of interest include those listed in the call for the main conference. Each submission should include a clear formulation of the research problem, a brief discussion of how the work advances the state-of-the-art, proposed approach, preliminary results, and future work.

3. Important Dates

Submission of full-length papers: August 6, 2012 (extended)
Notification of acceptance: August 31, 2012
Submission of camera-ready papers: TBA

4. Workshop Organizers

M. Emre Celebi
Dept. of Computer Science, Louisiana State University, Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

Mutlu Mete
Dept. of Computer Science, Texas A&M University, Commerce, Texas, USA

5. Program Committee

Jes´us Angulo – Mines ParisTech, France
Kemal Aydin – University of Arkansas at Pine Bluff, USA
Costantino Grana – University of Modena and Reggio Emilia, Italy
Jon Yngve Hardeberg – Gjøvik University College, Norway
Takahiko Horiuchi – Chiba University, Japan
Sae Hwang – University of Illinois at Springfield, USA
Nasser Kehtarnavaz – University of Texas at Dallas, USA
Sinan Kockara – University of Central Arkansas, USA
Jeongkyu Lee – University of Bridgeport, USA
Olivier Lezoray – University of Caen, France
Samuel Morillas – Technical University of Valencia, Spain
Henryk Palus – Silesian University of Technology, Poland
Kamisetty R. Rao – University of Texas at Arlington, USA
Yong Man Ro – Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology, South Korea
Gerald Schaefer – Loughborough University, UK
Bogdan Smo lka – Silesian University of Technology, Poland
Jo˜ao Manuel R. S. Tavares – University of Porto, Portugal
Huiyu Zhou – Queen’s University Belfast, UK